Regular Meeting (Wednesday, June 17, 2020)

Generated by Julie Marynok on Monday, June 18, 2020

Members present

Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Members absent

James Boone, Edward Simms

Officers of the School Committee Present

Dr. Sheila Harrity

School district personnel present

Thomas Browne, Principal, Dayana Carlson, Assistant Principal, James Hachey, Director of Vocational Programs, Christina Favreau, Director of Academic Programs, Donald Kitzmiller, Director of Technology, Katy Whitaker, Development Coordinator, Tammy Crockett, Business Manager, Michael Gormley, Facilities Director, Victoria Zarozinski, Director of Student Support Services, and Julie Marynok, Recording Secretary

Meeting called to order at 7:01 PM

1. Opening Items

Action, Minutes: D. Approval of Minutes

THAT THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE VOTE TO APPROVE THE MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF JUNE 3, 2020, AS PRESENTED.

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Kathleen Airoldi.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips,

Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Abstain: Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Ronald Tourigny

2. Superintendent-Director's Report

Information: A. Superintendent-Director Update

Superintendent Harrity reviewed the Draft FY2021 Budget Cut Scenarios. She addressed the FY2021 staff information as well as the FY2021 levels of potential budget cuts.

3. Principal's Report

Information: A. Principal's Monthly Report

Principal Browne updated the School Committee on the tentative graduation plan. He also gave an end of the year wrap-up.

4. Personnel - None

5. Reports by Subcommittees

Action, Information: A. Financial Planning

MOVE THAT THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE ALLOW FOR UP TO \$550,000 FROM E&D TO BE USED TO OFFSET THE FY 20/21 BUDGET IF NEEDED.

Motion by William Brassard, second by Mary Barclay.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Information: B. Workforce

James Cournoyer stated that negotiations will resume shortly.

6. Financial

Action, Information: A. Approval of Bus Contract for School Year 2020/2021 MOVE THAT THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE AWARD THE ONE (1) YEAR RENEWAL OPTION FOR SY2020-2021 PER BID #2017-03 TO THE FOLLOWING COMPANIES: J.P. MCCARTHY; DEE BUS; E.H. MERRIFIELD; AND AA TRANSPORTATION PER ATTACHED MEMO OUTLINING ROUTES AND AMOUNTS.

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Eric Olson.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Action, Discussion, Information: B. Surplus Equipment List THAT THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE CONSIDER THE ITEMS ON THE ATTACHED LIST AS SURPLUS TO BE AUCTIONED.

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Barbara Reynolds.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Not Present at Vote: Maureen Ward, Ronald Tourigny

Action, Information: C. Surplus School Vehicle

THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE CONSIDER THE 2009 FORD HYBRID SUV WITH 124,000 MILES AS SURPLUS FOR TRADE-IN; ONLY IF REPLACING THE SECOND SCHOOL VEHICLE STAYS WITHIN FY20 BUDGET FOR SCHOOL VEHICLE REPLACEMENT OF \$25,000

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Barbara Reynolds.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus Nay: Matthew Vance

Action, Information: D. Line Item Transfers

THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE APPROVE THE LINE ITEM TRANSFERS AS PRESENTED.

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Barbara Reynolds.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

7. Communications

Information: A. Teacher's Information or Proposals

Action, Information: B. School Committee Chairman Report

MOVE THAT THE DISTRICT COMMITTEE AUTHORIZE THE CHAIRMAN TO SEND ON BEHALF OF THE FULL SCHOOL COMMITTEE THE ATTACHED "SCHOOL COMMITTEE RESOLUTION: COVID-19 STATE FUNDING" LETTER TO THE APPROPRIATE STATE LEADERS AS WELL AS ALL TOWN BOARD OF SELECTMEN'S OFFICES.

Motion by Mary Barclay, second by Barbara Reynolds.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus

Information: C. School Committee Comments

- 8. Other Items Not Reasonably Anticipated by the Chair Forty-Eight Hours Before the Meeting
- 9. Closing Items

Action: A. Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn

Motion by Peter Capone, second by Mary Barclay.

Final Resolution: So Voted

Aye: Amy Morton, Barbara Reynolds, Brian Walker, Diane Swenson, Eric Olson, James Cournoyer, John Mollica, Kathleen Airoldi, Mary Barclay, Matthew Vance, Maureen Ward, Melanie Weeks, Peter Capone, Ronald Tourigny, Ross Barber, Toni Phillips, Whitney Marshall, William Brassard, John Columbus